Experts Listed by Geographic Region

See also our expert advisors listed by topic or our panel of international journalists.


British Columbia
Alberta
Saskatchewan and Manitoba
Southern Ontario

Eastern Ontario
Quebec
Atlantic Provinces
International

BRITISH COLUMBIA

Morris L. Barer, MBA, PhD, FCAHS
University of British Columbia
Health Care Financing and Policy, Access to Care
604-822-5992 | mbarer@chspr.ubc.ca


Alan Cassels, CD, MPA
University of Victoria
Drug Policy, Ethics and Marketing
250-361-3120 | cassels@uvic.ca | @AKECassels


Neena Chappell, PhD
University of Victoria
Health Policy for Aging Population
250-472-4465 | nlc@uvic.ca


Damien Contandriopoulos, PhD
University of Victoria
Financing; Privatization; Primary Care Delivery
250-721-7959 | damien1@uvic.ca
(Available for interviews in French/English)


Michael Hayes, PhD
University of Victoria
Health inequities, disability and child obesity
250-853-3108 or (c) 250-818-2410 |mhayes@uvic.ca


Marcus Hollander, PhD
Hollander Analytical Services, Ltd.
Health Services Research, Evaluation and Administration
250-384-2776 | marcus@hollanderanalytical.com


Michael Law, PhD
University of British Columbia
Prescription Drug Coverage and Costs
604-822-3514 | mlaw@chspr.ubc.ca | @MikeLawUBC


James McCormack, PharmD
University of British Columbia
Appropriate/Rational Drug Therapy
604-603-7898 | jmccorma@interchange.ubc.ca | @medmyths


Kimberlyn McGrail, PhD
University of British Columbia
Variations, Aging, Outcomes 
778-998-3821 | kmcgrail@chspr.ubc.ca


John Millar, MD, FRCP(C), MHSc
University of British Columbia
Public Health, Health Policy, International Health
604-922-0995 or (c) 604-785-9058 | john.millar10@gmail.com | @JohnMillar10


Anita Palepu, MD, MPH, FRCPC, FACP
University of British Columbia
Housing, Homelessness and Health
604-682-2344 ext 63194 | apalepu@hivnet.ubc.ca | @anitapalepu


Karen Palmer, MPH, MS
Simon Fraser University
Comparative Health Policy; Activity-based Funding, US and Switzerland Healthcare Systems
778-558-1249 | kpalmer@sfu.ca


Richard Stanwick, MD, MSc, FRCP (C), FAAP
Vancouver Island Health Authority
Healthy Public Health Policy, Tobacco and Injury Control
250-519-3406 | richard.stanwick@viha.ca


Jason Sutherland, PhD
University of British Columbia
Hospital Performance, Funding Models
604-822-6812 | jsutherland@chspr.ubc.ca

ALBERTA

Mike Allan, MD
University of Alberta
Evidence-based Primary Care Practice
780-248-2057 | 780-342-4038 (clinic) | 780-720-4093 (c) | michael.allan@ualberta.ca


Herb Emery, PhD
University of Calgary
Health Care Finance, Sustainability, Innovation, Chronic Disease Prevention
403-220-5489 | hemery@ucalgary.ca


Nicole Letourneau, PhD, RN
University of Calgary
Understanding to Help Stressed-Out Childbearing Families
403-210-3833 | nicole.letourneau@ucalgary.ca | @nicolelynletour


Melville McMillan, PhD
University of Alberta
Health and Public Finance
780-492-7629 | melville.mcmillan@ualberta.ca


Kim Raine PhD, RD, FCAHS
University of Alberta
Social Factors and Interventions in Obesity and Food
780-492-9415 | kim.raine@ualberta.ca

SASKATCHEWAN AND MANITOBA

Benedict C. Albensi, PhD
Professor, University of Manitoba & Principal Investigator, St. Boniface Research Centre
Memory, Alzheimer’s Disease, Neuropharmacology, Aging
204-235-3942 | 204-782-3698 (c) | albensi@cc.umanitoba.ca | balbensi@sbrc.ca


Eric Bohm, MD, FRCSC
University of Manitoba
Orthopedic Surgery, Standards and Practices
204-926-1212 | ebohm@cjrg.ca


Marni Brownell, PhD
University of Manitoba
Social Factors in Children’s Health
705-385-8225 | marni_brownell@cpe.umanitoba.ca


Jino Distasio, PhD
University of Winnipeg
Mental Health, Homelessness, and Quality of Life
204-982-1147 | j.distasio@uwinnipeg.ca | @JinoDistasio


Malcolm Doupe, PhD
University of Manitoba
Aging Population, Nursing Homes, Home Care
204-975-7759 | malcolm_doupe@cpe.umanitoba.ca


Alan Katz, MBChB, MSc, CCFP
University of Manitoba
Primary Care Delivery and Disease Prevention
204-789-3442 | alan_katz@cpe.umanitoba.ca | @Abbakatz


Rick Linden, PhD
University of Manitoba
Crime Prevention
204-474-8457 or (c) 204-979-9786 | rlinden@cc.umanitoba.ca


Verena Menec, PhD
University of Manitoba
Healthy Aging, End of Life Care
204-272-3184 or 204-474-9176 | verena.menec@med.umanitoba.ca


Nazeem Muhajarine, PhD
University of Saskatchewan
Child Health, Social and Environmental Factors
306-966-7940 | nazeem.muhajarine@usask.ca


Noralou Roos, CM, PhD
University of Manitoba
Poverty and Well Being
204-789-3319 | noralou_roos@cpe.umanitoba.ca | @nlroos


Jitender Sareen, MD, FRCPC
University of Manitoba
Traumatic Stress (Military), First Nations Suicide Prevention
204-787-7078 | jitendersareen@gmail.com


Robert Schroth, DMD, MSc, PhD
University of Manitoba
Early Childhood Oral Health
204-975-7764 | umschrot@cc.umanitoba.ca

SOUTHERN ONTARIO

[Toronto; Hamilton]
Gary Bloch, MD, BA (Hons)
University of Toronto
Poverty and Health, Health of the Homeless
416-864-3011 (clinic) | gary.bloch@utoronto.ca | @Gary_Bloch


Robert Brown, PhD
University of Waterloo (retired)
Financial Security in an Aging Population
250-391-6456 | rlbrown1949@gmail.com


Ben Chan, MD, MPH, MPA
University of Toronto
Patient Safety and Quality/Rural Primary Care
416-978-8622 | drben.chan@utoronto.ca


Denis Daneman
University of Toronto
Chronic Disease and Social Determinants of Child Health
416-813-6122 | denis.daneman@sickkids.ca


Raisa Deber, PhD
University of Toronto
Healthcare Financing, Organization and Management
416-978-8366 | raisa.deber@utoronto.ca


Irfan Dhalla, MD, MSc, FRCPC
University of Toronto
Organization/Financing of Healthcare
416-864-6060 ext. 7113 | dhallai@smh.ca | @IrfanDhalla


Gregory Marchildon, PhD
University of Toronto
Health Systems, Health Policy & Economic History
416-978-4326 | greg.marchildon@utoronto.ca


Livio Di Matteo, PhD
Lakehead University
Health Economics, Sustainability, Costs, Expenditures
807-343-8545 | Livio.DiMatteo@lakeheadu.ca


Colleen Flood, LLB (Hons), LLM, SJD
University of Ottawa
Healthcare Law, Policy and Finance
416-697-4594 | colleenmarionflood@gmail.com | @ColleenFlood2


Michel Grignon, PhD
McMaster University
Aging, Health Care Financing, Equity
905-525-9140 ext. 20205 or 23493 | grignon@mcmaster.ca


Astrid Guttmann, MDCM, MSc, FRCPC
University of Toronto
Disparities in Children’s Health Outcomes
306-966-7940 | astrid.guttmann@ices.on.ca


David Henry, MBChB, MRCP, FRCP (Edin)
University of Toronto
What Drugs Should We Pay For and Why?
416-480-4297 | david.henry@ices.on.ca


Jeremiah Hurley, PhD
McMaster University
Healthcare Financing, Funding Models
905-525-9140, ext. 24593 | hurley@mcmaster.ca


Jan Hux, MD, SM, FRCPC
University of Toronto
Diabetes Risk Factors, Chronic Disease
800-226-8464 | jan.hux@diabetes.ca


Stephen Hwang, MD, MPH
St. Michael’s Hospital
Health Services for the Homeless and Disadvantaged
416-864-5991 | hwangs@smh.ca | @StephenHwang


David Juurlink, MD, PhD, FRCPC
Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, Toronto
Drug Safety & Epidemiology of Adverse Drug Events
416-480-4055 ext. 3039 | dnj@ices.on.ca | @DavidJuurlink


Nick Kates, MBBS, FRCP(C)
McMaster University
Community Mental Health, Quality, System Linkages
905-522-1155 ext 36291 | nkates@mcmaster.ca


Jennifer Kuk, PhD
School of Kinesiology and Health Science
Weight Management, Health Promotion, Lifestyle Interventions
416-736-2100 ext 20080 | jennkuk@gmail.com


Paul Kurdyak, MD, PhD
Centre for Addiction and Mental Health
Mental Health Services Research
416-535-8501 ext.34968 | paul.kurdyak@camh.ca | @KurdyakP


Elizabeth Lee Ford-Jones, MD, FRCPC
The Hospital for Sick Children
Social Factors, Child Well-Being
416-813-5443 | lee.ford-jones@sickkids.ca


Robert McMurtry, MD, FRCSC
University of Western Ontario
Wait Times, Surgical Policy and Delivery
519-646-6287 | rymcmurtry1@gmail.com


Patricia O’Campo, PhD
Dalla Lana School of Public Health, University of Toronto
Health Equity, Violence Prevention, Intersectoral Interventions
416-864-5403 | o’campop@smh.ca

Brian Rotenberg, MD, MPH, FRCSC
Head and Neck Surgery at Western University
Sleep Apnea, Sinus Disease
519-646-6320 | drbwrotenberg@sjhc.london.on.ca


Michael Schull, MD, MSc, FRCPC
University of Toronto
Health System Integration/Emergency Department
416-480-6100 ext. 3793 | mjs@ices.on.ca


Stuart Shanker, DPhil
York University
Early Child Development
416-736-2100 ext 20386 | stuartshanker@gmail.com | @StuartShanker


Vicky Stergiopoulos, MD, MHSc, FRCPC
St. Michael’s Hospital, University of Toronto
Mental Health Services Research, Homelessness
416-864-6060  ext 6415 | stergiopoulosv@smh.ca


Thérèse Stukel, PhD
ICES/University of Toronto
Health Systems Research
416-480-6100 ext. 3928 | stukel@ices.on.ca


Amardeep Thind, MD, PhD
University of Western Ontario
Wait Times to See a Specialist
519-858-5028 | athind2@uwo.ca


Charles Wright, MD
Consultant in Academic and Medical Affairs Appropriateness/Need for Medical Care
University Health Network, Toronto
416-824-5407 | cjwright@rogers.com

EASTERN ONTARIO

[Ottawa]
Ivy Bourgeault, PhD
University of Ottawa
Health Workforce Issues
613-562-5800 ext. 8614; or (c) 613-806-8287 | ivy.bourgeault@uOttawa.ca


Yoni Freedhoff, MD
University of Ottawa
Nutrition, Obesity, Weight Management
613-730-0264 | drfreedhoff@bmimedical.ca | @YoniFreedhoff


Marc-André Gagnon, PhD
Carleton University
Pharmaceutical Policies
613-520-2600 ext. 1690 | ma_gagnon@carleton.ca | @MAG_Rx
(Available for interviews in French/English)


Allan Maslove, PhD
Carleton University
Healthcare Financing; Sustainability
613-520-2600 ext. 1285 or (c) 613-866-1475 | allan_maslove@carleton.ca


Michael Wolfson, PhD
University of Ottawa
Pensions, Income Distribution and Health
613-797-1450 | michael.wolfson@uottawa.ca

QUEBEC

François Béland, PhD
Université de Montréal
Health Services for the Elderly
514-343-2225 | francois.beland@umontreal.ca
(Available for interviews in French/English)


Nicole F. Bernier, PhD
Institute for Research on Public Policy
Aging Policy, Age-friendly communities, Financing long-term care
514-787-0745 | nf.bernier@umontreal.ca | @NicoleFBernier
(Available for interviews in French/English)


Alain Lesage, MD, FRCP (C), MPhil, DFAPA
Université de Montréal
Mental Health in Workplace
514-251-4000 ext 2365 | alesage@ssss.gouv.qc.ca
(Available for interviews in French/English)


Marie-Pascale Pomey, MD, PhD (Canadian Based)
Department of Health Administration, Université de Montréal
French Healthcare System and Comparing European & Canadian Healthcare
514-343-6111 ext. 1364 | marie-pascale.pomey@umontreal.ca
(Available for interviews in French/English)


Amélie Quesnel-Vallée, PhD
McGill University
Social Inequalities in Health and French Healthcare System
1-514-398-2758 | 1-514-758-2269 (c) | amelie.quesnelvallee@mcgill.ca


Robyn Tamblyn, BSCN, MSc, PhD
McGill University
E-Health, Drug Safety
514-934-1934 ext. 32997 | robyn.tamblyn@mcgill.ca | @RobynTamblyn

ATLANTIC PROVINCES

Janice M. Keefe, PhD 
Mount Saint Vincent University
Aging and Caregiving Policy
902-457-6466 | janice.keefe@msvu.ca

INTERNATIONAL

Australia

Stephen Duckett, PhD, DSc, FASSA
Health Program Director, Grattan Institute, Melbourne
Australian Healthcare System, Alberta Health Services, Funding Healthcare, Privatization
011-61-03-9035-9651 | stephen.duckett@grattan.edu.au | @stephenjduckett


Jane Hall, PhD
Centre for Health Economics Research & Evaluation, Australia
Australian Healthcare System, Primary Care, Funding Healthcare
011-61-2-9514-4718 | jane.hall@chere.uts.edu.au


David Henry, MBChB, MRCP, FRCP (Edin) (Canadian Based)
University of Toronto
Australian Healthcare System and What Drugs Should We Pay For and Why?
416-480-4297 | david.henry@ices.on.ca

France

Michel Grignon, PhD (Canadian Based)
McMaster University
French Healthcare System, Aging, Healthcare Financing, and Equity
905-525-9140 ext. 20205 or 23493 | grignon@mcmaster.ca | @MichelGrignon1
(Available for interviews in French/English)


Zeynep Or, PhD
Research Director, Institute for Research and Information in Health Economics, France
French Healthcare System, Health System Performance, Finance & Policy
011-33-153-93-43-41 | or@irdes.fr


Marie-Pascale Pomey, MD, PhD (Canadian Based)
Department of Health Administration, Université de Montréal
French Healthcare System and Comparing European & Canadian Healthcare
514-343-6111 ext. 1364 | marie-pascale.pomey@umontreal.ca
(Available for interviews in French/English)

Germany

Timothy Stoltzfus Jost, J.D
Washington and Lee University School of Law, United States
German Healthcare System, Healthcare Reform, Health Law, and Healthcare Financing
1-540-564-2524 | 1-540-421-1529 (h) | 1-540-458-8510 | jostt@wlu.edu


Ewout van Ginneken, PhD
Berlin University of Technology
European health systems and policies
49-0-30-31429483 | ewout.vanginneken@tu-berlin.de

Netherlands

André den Exter, PhD
Erasmus University Rotterdam, the Netherlands
Dutch Healthcare System and European Union Health Law
011-31-10-408186 | denexter@bmg.eur.nl | @AndredenExter


Colleen Flood, LLB, LLM, SJD (Canadian Based)
University of Ottawa
Dutch Healthcare System, Healthcare Law, Policy, and Finance
416-697-4594 | colleenmarionflood@gmail.com | @ColleenFlood2

New Zealand

Toni Ashton, PhD
University of Auckland, New Zealand
New Zealand Healthcare System, Health Economics, Healthcare Reform, and Healthcare Costs & Spending
011-64-9-923-6136 | toni.ashton@auckland.ac.nz


Colleen Flood, LLB, LLM, SJD (Canadian Based)
University of Ottawa
New Zealand Healthcare System, Healthcare Law, Policy, and Finance
416-697-4594 | colleenmarionflood@gmail.com | @ColleenFlood2

Portugal

Rita Araújo, MSc
Communication and Society Research Center, University of Minho (Portugal)
Portuguese Healthcare System and Health Media Coverage
011-351-9632-82170 | rita.manso.araujo@gmail.com

United Kingdom

John W. Frank, MD, CCFP, MSc, FRCPC, FCAHS, FFPH, FRSE
Scottish Collaboration for Public Health Research and Policy, University of Edinburgh UK Healthcare System, Health Inequalities, Prevention, and Public Health
011-44-131-651-1593 | john.frank@ed.ac.uk


Stephen Peckham, BSc, MA(Econ), HMFPH
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine & University of Kent
UK Healthcare System, Health Policy Analysis, Organization and Service Delivery, Primary Care, and Public Health
011-44-1227-827645 | 011-44-7910-583447 (c) | S.Peckham@kent.ac.uk


Anne Snowdon, BScN, MSc, PhD
Academic Chair, International Centre for Health Innovation, Ivey School of Business, Western University
UK Healthcare System & Canadian Healthcare System
1-519-661-2111 ext. 82022 | asnowdon@ivey.uwo.ca

United States

Jody Heymann, MD, PhD
University of California, Los Angeles
US Healthcare System, Social Policies, and Health
1-310-825-6381 | jody.heymann@ph.ucla.edu


Theodore R. Marmor, PhD
Yale University Emeritus
US, UK, Holland, German, and Canadian Healthcare Systems
1-646-918-6159 | 1-203-376-7739 (c) | theodore.marmor@yale.edu


Karen Palmer, MPH, MS
Simon Fraser University
Comparative Health Policy; Activity-based Funding, US and Switzerland Healthcare Systems
778-558-1249 | kpalmer@sfu.ca

Switzerland

Karen Palmer, MPH, MS
Simon Fraser University
Comparative Health Policy; Activity-based Funding, US and Switzerland Healthcare Systems
778-558-1249 | kpalmer@sfu.ca


For international calling codes, click here